2013-14 Tuition and Fees
$29,458 (estimated Oregon resident tuition)
$36,724 (estimated Nonresident tuition)
The first third of your tuition will be due September 1. The second third of your tuition is due October 1, and the last third of your tuition is due November 1.
Law students are classified as graduate students.
Payment of mandatory fees entitles students who are enrolled for academic credit to all of the services the university offers its students including the recreation center, the health center, and the library system. In addition, law students have access to a dedicated student lounge, individual lockers, the law library, and complete technology support at the Knight Law Center.
Tuition and fee schedules are subject to revision each summer by the Oregon State Board of Higher Education, and final determination on the amounts is available at that time. Estimated tuition figures for 2013-14 can be found here: http://financialaid.uoregon.edu/13_14_cost_of_attendance (be sure to click the Law Expenses tab).
- Tuition and fees Oregon resident – $29,458
- Tuition and fees Nonresident – $36,724
- Off-campus housing academic year (Rent $681, Food $380, Utilities $145) - $10,854
- Books and supplies – $1,050
- Personal expenses (Cost varies depending on personal spending habits) - $3,240
- Laptop computer and accessories (first-year only; annual Mac and Dell recommended packages) – $1,650
- UO law student health insurance (optional) 2013-2014 – TBA (2012-2013: $2,849). Read more
- UO parking permit (optional) – $300 (2012-13) Read more
- Matriculation fee (required, one time) – $300
- Law school events fee (required, one time) – $150
Because your living arrangements and personal spending habits are unique, the figures above should be used only as a guideline for your own financial planning. They reflect average annual costs for a single law student with no dependents.
Residence is determined at the time of initial enrollment in the law school. In Oregon, as in all other states, instruction fees at publicly supported four-year colleges and universities are higher for nonresident students than for resident students.
In order to enroll as a resident student, you must have lived in Oregon for other purposes than attending school for at least a year before enrolling. Other rules may apply to Oregon Native Americans, military personnel, state employees, and applicants whose parents are Oregon residents.
It is difficult for students who apply to the University of Oregon as nonresidents to establish residency during their student years. Source of income, financial relationship to an Oregon resident, ownership of Oregon living quarters, tax and employment history, and purpose for being in Oregon are all taken into consideration. You may apply for in-state tuition if you are in Oregon for other purposes than attending school and you have lived twelve continuous months or more in the state.
More detailed information is available from:
1217 University of Oregon
Office of Admissions
Eugene OR 97403-1217
telephone (541) 346-3201 or (800) 232-3825;
or at admissions.uoregon.edu.
Oregon University System (OUS) employees are not eligible to receive staff rates for tuition at the University of Oregon School of Law. The law school J.D. Program, as well as the Master's in Conflict Resolution and LL.M. in Environmental and Natural Resources Law, are University of Oregon programs that are excluded from the OUS staff tuition rates benefit.
Tuition assessments as of the billing date are included on a monthly statement of account and sent to your permanent mailing address. After you register, statements may be sent to your local address.
If you are paying out-of-pocket, you may pay full tuition at the time of billing, or you may establish a revolving account during registration that will allow you to pay each semester's charges in three monthly installments. The revolving account carries a $5 monthly billing charge and a 9 percent annual percentage rate. Due dates for fall tuition payments are September 1, October 1, and November 1. If you are receiving financial aid, your full tuition and fees will be deducted from your financial aid award at the time of registration.
More student account information is available from the business office at (541) 346-1119.
If you completely withdraw from the law school or reduce your course load below 9 credits, you may be entitled to a tuition refund. Refunds are based on assessed tuition and class fees, and are calculated from the date you officially drop a class or reduce credits, not the date of your last class attendance. No part of the admissions $600 seat deposit is refundable.
To view the refund schedule for the current year and for additional information, please see: http://registrar.uoregon.edu/costs/refunds
For information regarding tuition and fees for Conflict and Dispute Resolution Masters Candidates, click here.
For information regarding tuition and fees for the Environmental and Natural Resources Law LL.M. program, click here.